powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Jul. 10, 2020 - 9:21 a.m.

It’s our anniversary today. So just help me remember: as bored as I am, at least I don’t have to put on makeup and a bulky dress and fake smile for 16 hours straight.

GOD

Okay. Honestly. My stuff is getting here tomorrow, but even so. We will have been here a week and in theory, one more week to go, but in practice, we’re in a car, not on a fixed schedule, and AZ remains a virus-soaked summer hellscape. The in-laws are going to say, “why don’t you

[i just realized I never cancelled Q’s swim classes]

“why don’t you stay longer? What do you need to hurry back for?” And I’m not allowed to say, “it’s because I am bored out of my goddamn mind here and am going to start chewing my own flesh like a caged animal any day now, plus my garden is going to die and I can feel my creativity withering”.

GOD

previous next

Leave a note