powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Aug. 20, 2020 - 6:51 p.m.

I did it, I made a little sample book with a lot of pages. Not sure I attached the second cover quite right but other than that I think the stitching was good. I want the proportions to be right, I don’t want it too seem too thin for its size and that means more pics, or spacing them differently. Or having text?

I realized I could write in pencil over the emulsion coating and it would wash away after exposure, like a resist. Other possibilities are to write directly on the transparency, which will create a negative image. Or of course to take a photo of lettering and invert that and print it as a negative. I’m intrigued by all these ideas.

I haven’t sewn a Coptic binding in a long time. I didn’t remember all the details but I did remember which way the thread had to go, etc. it was not difficult and went relatively quickly. If I have everything prepped I can probably sew one of the books in an hour and a half.

They won’t be usual looking books but that’s probably for the best.

I had a grapefruit basil honey mojito and I feel better about everything now.

The mask I ordered from Russia still isn’t here. It’s probably sitting in a giant customs pile at the defunded USPS facilities in CA. RIP.

previous next

Leave a note