powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Oct. 01, 2020 - 11:19 a.m.

Q has gotten a lot better at drawing suddenly. I hope she keeps doing it. I would like it if she had art as an outlet.

My friend’s brother keeps posting memes making fun of the idea that antifa isn’t an organization, because if there are people doing things in groups it is obviously an organization. He’s so stupid my head hurts.

Also he’s been posting things about how look, blacks for Trump photographed with the Proud Boys, obviously the Proud Boys aren’t white supremacists. Also they have Latino members! They’re just patriots!

And I grew up with this guy, my best friend’s brother, squashed in the back seat with him on the way to the mall and TaiKwonDo classes and Sunday school every week and trying to teach me to surf. And I don’t know what’s worse, that he won’t listen or that maybe he’d really be ok with me getting my teeth kicked in by some Proud Boy because I’m a little gay and a lot antifascist. But you know, I read a lot about the Rwandan genocide and I know what lifelong friends and neighbors can do to each other under the right conditions of propaganda. I don’t think it’ll come to that here exactly, piles of corpses in churches, but I know what’s in our hearts. And should I unfriend him for my own sanity, or stay so he keeps knowing my face.

previous next

Leave a note