powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Dec. 01, 2020 - 10:46 p.m.

Read an article about the spectrum of autistic catatonia, from an autistic perspective. It was very interesting. I had always heard catatonia mentioned in more clinical, outsider accounts and had always wondered why it was not brought up much among autistics in the groups I’m in. But it turns out it’s what gets called “autistic inertia” in the community. And there’s a spectrum of it, and it’s sometimes very hard to tell apart from other things associated with executive dysfunction caused by other things.

So that was interesting. I hear a lot of people refer to “dissociating” and honestly I don’t know what the fuck that means. Related?

Anyway I’ve wanted to spend a lot of time laying in bed rocking lately. I did do some jewelry prep work and my exercises today, so that was something. Just the stretches, not the strength training. I need to do both.

previous next

Leave a note