powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Jan. 22, 2021 - 6:34 a.m.

Yesterday was unproductive in vast swathes but then quite productive in short bursts and so I’ll call it a win. Today I need to do resin on the batch I started, and plan the next batch.

I keep reading the news and all the ways the new administration is putting things right and it doesn’t feel quite real. Wordy compared this transition to getting out of an abusive relationship, and I find that spot-on. Not least because existing without abuse After Abuser is never the same as Before Abuser, even if it is better than before. I can’t help but feel for young people who grew up during these last few years, for whom that was “normal”. National trauma indeed.

Anyway. I look at the news and feel relief and worry that it’ll all go away somehow.

Mom doesn’t seem to be having any side effects from the vaccine, so that’s good.

U has been sleeping later again but the key difference is that I fall asleep and he doesn’t pester me, just comes in and sleeps beside me when he’s ready. At first I was still waking 2-3 times a night but that seems to be dissipating. Last night I slept well and am up early; I hope it lasts. I do have to wake him if I don’t want it to keep slipping back around the clock (and then he will start waking me because of course he’ll be hungry).

previous next

Leave a note