powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Jan. 24, 2021 - 9:25 a.m.

I did one more transcription last night, one with good audio and easy to understand speech. Got a perfect score on it and no suggestions for improvement, so that’s encouraging. I have remedied the sense that I’m going to fail at it somehow, which had been a creeping and terrible feeling I needed to exorcise immediately.

Today, not doing any of it. Yesterday was too much. It’s exhausting in its way, really. Slow but steady on this and it doesn’t deserve more of my time than that anyway. For me to maximize this I have to balance between “it’s nice to finally have a way to make a little money in a reliable way”, which brings a true sense of relief, with the acknowledgment that it’s very exploitative and I neither can nor should do much more than I already am. I can’t turn up the volume on it, and should keep my ambitions directed elsewhere.

previous next

Leave a note