powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Feb. 02, 2021 - 10:35 p.m.

J got his vaccine on Saturday. It’s such a weird relief, him and mom (halfway) vaccinated, and the numbers all going down for some weird reason. I still haven’t figured that one out. I still haven’t seen any articles discussing it. But I hope it’s true, not some kind of data trickery. Anyway, it’s all like air gradually leaking out of a balloon, but in a good way. Also, the news. The news is pretty boring again and I’m happy about that.

U has been staying up late again, but I get to lay in the extra bed and he crawls in with me when he’s ready and I am undisturbed, and so I’ve been sleeping pretty well. I still wake at 3 or 4am for a little while, but overall it’s so much better. And I feel a lot better during the day. Funny how that works.

The transcription stuff has been going fine. I feel that exposing myself to a wide variety of people explaining things verbally has resulted in some restored fluency for me. And I’m becoming really attuned to different sorts of discourse-related words. “And so” being a big power combo, reminds me of -ka tense in Swahili. Also “kind of”. I should look and see if anyone’s written about that one.

previous next

Leave a note