powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Mar. 17, 2021 - 9:12 p.m.

The word disruption came up today and I started thinking about it. God I fucking hate it when artists do something they characterize as a “disruption”. But also? I see the value. But maybe if you have to announce it as such it isn’t that good at being that?

Disruptions though... disruptive behavior. Disruption to one’s plans. It’s upsetting. The disruption of the pandemic has fucked up so many things. Some in a good way, but mostly bad. Disruptions in the supply chain. Disrupt business as usual. Disrupt systems of oppression. There’s a lot of that to be done. I don’t like my schedule disrupted. Or chaos for its own sake. Maybe for the sake of whimsy or reordering or justice. Yeah. My patchwork pants disrupt on a couple levels.

I guess it’s a good goal if you’re wielding it with intention and precision. Disruption for its own sake? I don’t know. It depends. Probably a waste of energy. But thinking about what can and should be disrupted in any situation is probably a good habit to get into.

A quote today about adopting any tools, but doing it wrong. Always using them wrong. That’s disruptive.

Unrelatedly, or tangentially relatedly, I want to develop a vocabulary of motifs to use across my fabric printmaking, appliqué, and embroidery. Just a good set of motifs to return to. Design motifs, thematic motifs. Alla that. I feel like starting from scratch every time is exhausting. Preferably a set that’s somehow a bit surprising, yet evocative. Maybe a bit funny.

Got a jewelry order today. Back to work for me.

previous next

Leave a note