powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Apr. 09, 2021 - 8:39 a.m.

Did a couple more fancy cyanotypes yesterday. Then I scanned them all and tiled them and put them in my Society6 shop and I think they look nice? But do they really or is it only the illusory looking nice where it looks nice specifically to me because I put so much time into them?

Do I want to do more? To what end? For the purpose of people liking them?

Anyway, I don’t know. I have visions, of course. Large, complex ones that take a long time to do. Ones where I incorporate photographic images into the design, body parts blooming among the leaves and vines. Or even just birds. Ones that evoke manuscripts or wallpaper. Ones that loom in the background of a pinhole photo printed in cyanotype (can you reconcile the sharp edges and bright whites of the cyanotype with the softness of a pinhole photo?). A photo at the center, and leaves spiraling outward from it.

I don’t want to let my ideas go untried, I never do. We’ll see, we’ll see.

previous next

Leave a note