powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, May. 17, 2021 - 7:57 a.m.

I had a dream with two art piece ideas. One of which may be a little up my alley and the other not at all. So just visualize them if you will.

1. It was an installation piece, cut out letters in paper on string, strings of letters stretched from a point a few feet up, to the floor about 6 feet away. Very densely packed and lit so that when viewed mostly it appeared to be a field of black with letters emerging at the edges.

The font was those cut out letters like they use on bulletin boards in schools. I would probably change that. They were mostly black, but a few in colors here and there. Somehow they were all parallel to each other and not flipping around like real paper letters on strings would be. I wondered what the text was. I don’t know, but there was a text. I dreamed of myself cutting out letters and gluing them to string.

2. Architectural model reproductions of destroyed historical buildings in Beirut. Not before they were destroyed, but after. Model rubble. A portion of a dome here. Half a wall. Meticulously reproduced from photographs of damage.

previous next

Leave a note