powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Jul. 17, 2021 - 10:14 p.m.

I worked hard at transcription this week. May have been a record. Not sustainable at this pace, but still. I work hard when the work is a diversion.

It’s been ok. Apart from E’s fussiness with food, there hasn’t been trouble. If anyone is unhappy with me, I am not aware of it. That’s a big if, but ignorance is bliss.

Did two transcriptions related to academics working in the arts. They beam with warmth and excitement about their ideas and missions. One was a man who used the phrase, “museology of affection” and it was his mission to make everyone in his museum feel they matter. He radiated excited warmth and care. I resented him even as I imagined how nice it would be to chat with him at a faculty party.

previous next

Leave a note