powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Sept. 01, 2021 - 6:23 p.m.

A little bit on the “racing thoughts” end of things today. Did some transcription, worked on another jewelry order. Mostly contemplating my difficulties with making art lately, to wit:

Financial motivation to make art is gone because I am happy with my money stream from my jewelry now. And it’s surprisingly difficult to evaluate what I want to do without that as a consideration.

Sometimes I want to make art that is serious in some way, or reflects my own experiences in some way. But no, no.

Sometimes I want to make stuff that’s just frivolous and whimsical and makes people happy, but that doesn’t feel good either. No, no.

Sometimes I think I should go back to doing those public works, like the buntings. I enjoyed that. But no. No.

Sometimes I think about how it would be very nice just to do a regular stream of mail art again, or even get to working on a Halloween piece to send to everyone. I liked that. But I feel stuck. It’s not a total no, but I feel stuck.

I just have to try out little dumb things till something clicks and makes me happy again.

previous next

Leave a note