powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Oct. 16, 2021 - 7:48 p.m.

Got my birthday pie. This year I made the crust. The first crust I made, I used part in an apple pie and I was once again underwhelmed. So finally I gave in and used the family recipe, which involves two kinds of crisco and no butter, but which is reliably flaky and wonderful. And it was. And J did a good job on the pie. There is a reason it’s my favorite.

Sold my soul to Detroit style pizza this week.

Also today set out to make a cider reduction syrup, forgot about it (predictably), ended up coming back to find it turning to candy. So I stirred in some cream and now it’s a nice cider caramel sauce. I don’t know what I’ll do with it, I feel like putting it in a pie would be worthy. That’s a lot of pie this week though.

In other news, or perhaps the same news, gaining weight again. Haha. Need to go back to my veggie lunches I guess. Veggies for lunch and beans for supper would sort me out pretty quickly.

previous next

Leave a note