powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, May. 08, 2022 - 12:23 p.m.

My sleep schedule is finally on UK time. I ventured out midday yesterday to the Bay but since it was a beautiful day in a city, people were everywhere there. I nearly had a panic attack, but retreated and regrouped and went back to the craft gallery and picked out a little porcelain bowl (I actually remembered the work from last time I was here) and went home again.

The walk was along the river on a path right between apartment buildings and the river. I took 2 pinhole photos of the river so that I would feel like I accomplished something.

I didn’t bring my cyanotype stuff and I regret it because there are so many little wildflowers out now.

The cathedral is about an hour’s walk. I don’t know whether I’ll do it today because it’s already 12:30 and my friend is here asleep. From what I can tell, he only sleeps once every few days and often only for a few hours at a time, so I don’t want to wake him. It’s been at least 6 hours already.

I dislike the need to put on a show of having gone and done things others would find worth traveling this far to do. I dislike that it will get harder to talk about it every time as I continue to not do things they find sensible. I can’t tell them about the restaurants I ate at or the historic buildings I looked at. I suppose I can make things up. “Don’t ask me no questions and I won’t tell you no lies.” I will eventually authentically find a groove. But mostly why I’m here is not a reason I can even hint at. And that would be fine if they didn’t expect to get to partake of my experience. It’s not unreasonable to want to hear about my adventures when you assume they’re going to be, “I saw this and that and learned this history and ate these things”.

What I have learned that I can pass along is that everyone is confused by the buses. I meant to mention that after my trip from Bristol. Where’s the info on the board? Which stop is it? How do I buy a ticket? Where does this one go? People asked me, and if they’re asking me, then it must be confusing.

Anyway.

It’s Mothers Day and I still have to call my mother and text my mother in law I guess. I’m glad to be missing out on FB Mothers Day chatter.

previous next

Leave a note