powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Jul. 15, 2022 - 12:29 p.m.

Based on the recommendation of someone in a transcription file, I bought a copy of The Tragedy of Heterosexuality. Started reading it on Google books and did want more. The e-book was $26, the paperback $15. Sorry, trees.

I will already say reading queer feminist theory makes me feel very confused because I can’t identify as straight and I can’t identify as queer and I don’t understand these “women” they speak of but neither do I get “men”. So there we are. Yet I swim in this water like the rest of them.

Done a couple transcriptions lately about organizations in East Africa. I hate that the groups doing so much good are Christian organizations. African-led Christian missionary organizations are… colonized, instruments of perpetuating colonized social structures, even savior complex. But they’re also doing valuable work. The cognitive dissonance is strong. And of course, I’m white, so.

previous next

Leave a note