powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Sept. 15, 2022 - 8:44 a.m.

The thing being, what I seek is that activity that continually unfolds itself to me and lends itself to new discoveries. Commercial success with my art at whatever level I find satisfying is an achievement that once arrived at, is over for me.

My art is a garden. I’m not a monoculturalist, either.

Ideally I would love the process, it would be a process that mastery is a mirage. You only move further into the desert. Really you’ve come quite far, but there’s always something more just out of reach.

Any idea I want to explore, it’s there for it.

And I do need to figure out how I measure success. I’ve said for some time that commercial is not it. They say you shouldn’t measure your worth by other people’s desire for you, and I get that. It’s obvious, even. Same goes for anything that’s an extension of yourself.

Gotta pay that electric bill, though, still. Eggs, baskets and whatnot.

previous next

Leave a note