powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Nov. 10, 2022 - 1:32 p.m.

Thanks for the kind notes about the bit about my mother. I think her age complicates it too. It’s funny because she always quoted her own father as saying there’s nothing special about old people, they just haven’t died yet. Something like that. It may have been more pithy. But now it’s definitely a factor when I consider how to interact with her (or when others advise me on what I “should” do). As if the older someone gets, the more wrong it is to not defer to them and coddle them. Pfft.

She deserves support to get what she needs when she can’t do things herself. And kindness, yes, maybe even extra, but not to the extent that it’s harmful.

I don’t know. Anyway, that’s not what I came here to say.

I didn’t miss the holiday promotion after all but it’s in 10 days and I’m stuck somewhere between wanting to go all in and do it and try to get some sales or at least have stuff for people to buy whenever they want to, and being afraid I won’t have enough done to make a good selection, in which case I’ll just be luring people to my page in order to make a bad impression.

I did the full lower body stretching routine for the first time in at least a month and man. Sore today but I needed it. My middle back pain has returned and that’s a sign I haven’t stretched my hamstrings and quads nearly enough.

previous next

Leave a note