powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Dec. 30, 2022 - 10:53 p.m.

The new sore throat went away. My immune system is primed and ready. Come at me.

The New Year’s resolution is not coming along. What do I want to work on most? The pinhole photography and prints. How do I do that? I don’t want to set an arbitrary timetable, but I do want to be making plans for the next round as soon as I reach the end of a cycle. The cycle being, I take photos, I develop them, scan them, select the best and print negatives, and then spend a week or so making prints.

What I want to take photos of: cemeteries, roadside shrines, naked people, and selfies. The naked people one is tricky because I have nowhere to do that that we won’t get arrested. Even self portraits, I have nowhere to do really. It’s too cluttered around here for the most part, or too public for me to do weird shit.

My idea is to rent an Airbnb now and then where I can do these things. And also take a nap. Wish I had a cheaper option, but I haven’t thought of one.

And then schedule road trips for the other things.

What will I do with the prints? I’d like to figure that out too but I don’t know how to break that down into smaller steps.

I spent a couple hours the other day fiddling around with sequins again and didn’t like anything that came of it. I really want to do the Halloween one and the heart one and I don’t know what else. Christmas maybe. I wish I could make my own sequin shapes. Probably everything is out there, but…

Anyhow I have no sequin-related goals, nor printmaking related goals (except finish mailing out the cards, which process has stalled massively).

No business goals except keep it going and in such a way that I make money and am not angry about it.

And I want to keep trying my zany ideas, even if they’re one-offs that don’t work or I only enjoy for a week. Right now the wheat pastes around the property are at the top of that list.

previous next

Leave a note