powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Feb. 23, 2023 - 7:01 p.m.

Occasionally on these transcripts I get to listen to an interviewer get hit on by the interviewee and I like to take note on that because I haven’t had much exposure to how socially capable people do this and so I add it to my available scripts. I mean not hit on hard but a social meeting suggested/initiated.

Anyway this one time the interviewee says “Yeah so I’d be up for getting a drink tonight if you want” and what I like about that is how it’s not a direct ask but makes it seem like the person being asked had been the one asking in the first place. Not like “Hey would you like to?” More of a description of an internal state that makes no demands on the other person. And also allows for a gentler demurral.

He got shot down but still! Data

previous next

Leave a note