powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Feb. 26, 2023 - 10:04 a.m.

The other day I was waiting in the post office and looking at the cards on the display rack and there was one that was a close up of a goat and yes it was a funny snapshot of a goat, I don’t know what it said inside, but I just thought about how simple the photo was, the kind of lucky moment any of us could capture. There was just regular stuff in the background.

And my mind went to using some of the less successful pinhole photos I’ve gotten, the ones where you can’t quite tell what the hell is going on, and in what surreal anti-gift shop they would be present on the card rack. And moreover, what sort of caption would you put with it that would some how make it work? I don’t mean make sense, but would make it work?

Anyway then my turn came to mail my package and I forgot all about it. Obviously.

previous next

Leave a note