powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Mar. 06, 2023 - 8:11 p.m.

So close to mailing off that jewelry order. Friend of mine posted about Hofstadter’s Law. So fucking true.

My brain today is on, what to do with the intellectual products and legacy of those who have proven to be… well, a range of things.

1. That thing about Einstein’s first wife I posted on FB the other day. Though that’s the least of it.

2. The PDA community, many many people coming forward saying a particular advocate who I had liked a lot was in fact manipulative and abusive. I can’t find details, just a lot of blah blah blah coming from every corner. I’m not saying I don’t believe them.

3. This person and that person in the philosophical community, I can’t even keep the scandals straight now. These people should know better.

4. Today in a private conversation I was anonymously privy to, a wall full of art by a photographer who I looked up on Wikipedia to find that he was known for nude photos of adolescents and their families and was convicted of performing acts with a minor a couple years ago. “These should be in the Met” these people said. They bemoaned the current climate against nudes of females taken by white men. “This will pass” they said wisely.

And on and on. Throw a rock and hit another example. It’s just so interesting. Isn’t it. As are all the people, the mob with their solutions and their righteous certainty.

previous next

Leave a note