powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Mar. 09, 2023 - 9:03 a.m.

Did another photo shoot yesterday with a new person. It was fun. Got 6 photos, 5 turned out to be degree or another, and 3 I quite liked. Spent a lot of time just talking and petting the dog. Some people are clear on what kind of images they want beforehand and some just want to work that out in person (or don’t even have anything in mind, they just want the experience) and I’m less good at that obviously but I feel like I will figure out a script for it soon.

I did a little reading on the model release stuff and I feel like I'm pretty safe any direction I go. My approach with any thing I do going forward is that I will be completely good faith ethical in telling them how I will use images and asking permission before doing so and respecting that, even if they change their minds later. If there’s a situation where I believed I had permission but instead of talking with me about it they come at me with a lawyer, I’m safe though, because artistic expression. As long as I don’t use their image in advertising. That’s my understanding. Turns out though you can even sell photos, it’s the publishing for the purposes of advertising that you need a release for.

I still don’t know what direction I’ll go, but I like knowing what my options are.

Might go ahead and buy a better light. And I also see there’s positive photo paper. It’s more expensive than negative, but it would be cool to have a little original print right away.

previous next

Leave a note