powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, May. 25, 2023 - 6:14 p.m.

I left that place with a kitchen trash can full of trash, no bag, and a bent key of unknown purpose broken off in a lock. I’ll probably regret those things. By ‘regret’, I mean have to pay for them.

The hotel near the airport, they offered me a latte and a biscuit when I arrived too early to check in. Then she pulled my suitcase to the room for me. Nice people.

I walked another half hour to the beachside park. It was a rocky shoreline and I made my way along it to a couple cliffs that jutted out. I found interesting rocks for the kids. It was further than I expected and halfway there I was just sure I was going to slip and twist my ankle and probably break my phone and then have to make my way back up the rocks and limp the rest of the way back to the hotel. But I didn’t. The cliff was huge and cool in its shade, and I took pinhole photos until my phone was almost out of juice, then walked back up to the grassy area and took photos of the viaduct and then headed back.

It was an uphill walk 1/3 of the way back. My feet again are like, seriously? Fuck you. But my legs are fine. I’ve really toned them up this week and maybe I will try to keep it up when I get home. Seems like a shame not to. Just wake up and head out the door to walk toward the Rillito every morning before it gets hot. Then come home and have tea.

Seeing the seaside though, I am rethinking my thought that I would not come here again. I do love it here and I am getting familiar. Maybe next time I would be ready to take a bus trip somewhere up the coast. I can forget about the other part (the part that was the main idea but that vanished a couple days in), but I’ve proven I really don’t need him to enjoy myself. I really am happy wandering around and exploring by myself in my slow way.

previous next

Leave a note