powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Apr. 21, 2024 - 7:03 a.m.

Got another large jewelry order yesterday. It’s going to be a near thing, getting it out in before my trip. Need to start today. It’s nice I guess… I was succumbing to the notion that I wouldn’t really get more orders until September or something.

Have two photo sessions lined up for this week, one of a friend and one of the doll place. I’d like to do another, even, but I suppose that wouldn’t be wise. Don’t want to use up all my photo paper before Wales, for one thing.

I made 6? More cameras yesterday and now I have like 40. I’m probably set until it becomes clear that some aren’t that good. Probably. I can’t ever bring all of them with me, it’s ridiculous.

Someone drew my attention to the work of a photographer with the striking last name of Meatyard. He was my parents’ generation, but died in 1972. I’m reading a good article about him now, his process and thinking. The aesthetic is very similar to mine, and his approach, even. But he thought it out a lot more, what he was trying to accomplish. I should probably do that. Have a well thought out visual vocabulary I rely on, at least. I’m uncomfortable finding inspiration in other artists, actually, as opposed to just enjoying their work. I don’t want to do the same thing as someone else. Still, I think, “If Ralph Meatyard had done fetish photography” would be a fairly accurate characterization of what I’m after.

previous next

Leave a note