powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Dec. 31, 2005 - 9:27 a.m.

I didn't resolve anything last year, and it turned out pretty good anyway. So again, I'm not going to bother.

My friend isn't available for visiting until Monday. So this weekend I am stuck in the house, hoping to avoid my brother and pretending I'm really enjoying my mom's company. I mean, a little is okay, but I'm ready for some time alone. Preferably at the beach (it's going to be 77 degrees today!).

I didn't end up having to take him to the book store, because he disappeared all day again. We found a 12-pack of beer cleverly hidden on the ground outside the porch (or sun room; whatever it is). I felt like putting up a sign: Ray's Clever Hiding Spot For Beer. But there's no point in trying to shame him, since he has no dignity left anyway.

The nice little coffee shop that had just opened when I was here last year is still in business, and doing pretty well by the looks of things. I'm glad. I had a sandwich, and then they gave me some strawberry smoothie leftover from a drink they had made for someone.

previous next

Leave a note