powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, May. 19, 2006 - 6:34 a.m.

Has it already been 5 days since I updated? Ridiculous. The five days have looked much the same, except that one was J's birthday. I made him cupcakes.

I'm working harder now than I was while classes were in. I'm exhausted.

I got my grade in the class I took. An A, of course. I like being able to look at the grade breakdown. This prof., she has no mercy. A largish grad class, and only 3 As. I can guess who got the other two. I'd put money on it, even. Lots of Bs and Cs. Someone even failed, I see. Ouch. (I wonder who?)Yeah, I've always been the kind of person who tries to sneak a look at other people's grades, just to reassure myself that I'm really as smart as I think I am. As if other people's grades say anything at all about me. I was doing it in elementary school. I guess there's no changing me.

My plants finally arrived from this place. I ordered four different kinds of mint(Marshmallow, berries and cream, apple, and kentucky colonel)(so far the KY Col is my favorite-- smells like a julep, a strong julep), because I love mint, and a thyme (orange spice). First of all, it took three weeks for them to get them in the mail to me. Now I see that they have charged me twice. The phrase "incompetent at business" springs to mind, and healthy plants or no, I don't think I'll be ordering from them again. And one of them wasn't even that healthy. Four out of five were large, robust-looking plants, the other was teeny tiny, two little sprigs about an inch high only. And I paid $4 for it. $8 if I can't make them refund me one of those charges.

Yeah. Incompetent.

Speaking of business, no one has told me not to do the jewelry. This is not good, people! I have enumerated the many good reasons for me not to do so! Can't you turn me from this dubious path?

I have redesigned my jewelry cards-- I think they're reasonably spiffy now. Also wrote up a little thing to go on another card, an info card about how they are made. And I'm about to write my artist statement, too. One thing I like, is when I go to this gallery, my identity is Artist. No one is asking me about what I study, or how my dissertation is going. It's kinda nice.

previous next

Leave a note