powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Jun. 14, 2007 - 1:23 p.m.

Not feeling too optimistic about the show this weekend. (Notice how I've framed it: I'm not even full of pessimism, but devoid of optimism, as glass-half-empty as I can possibly be, and it's going to be that kind of an entry, so don't say I didn't warn you).

I'm pretty certain it's going to be a huge pain in the ass for very little direct financial benefit. I haven't much experience, but I did my research (since it doesn't involve writing anything up afterward), and this 'show' has none of the characteristics of a profitable art show. I shouldn't have been so damn eager to sign up for it. If I didn't have someone else relying on me for use of the canopy, I'd cancel now. There will be concerts, fair rides, people driving around in old cars, hot air balloons, square dancers...in short, lots of things for people to do other than buy jewelry. It's gonna suck. And I'll be staying for 2 nights with virtual strangers. Bad, awkward, probably uncomfortable. Suck. I'll probably give more away in stupid raffle items and gifts for this, that, and the other (we'll have three raffle baskets and I know of two gift baskets the Fearless Leader is trying to railroad us into filling) than I'll make. Ugh. Bad idea. The whole damn thing. My feet are wet enough from the last two shows; this one is unnecessary. What, am I trying to get raisin toes, here?

Vindaloo tried to munch on two of my pendants today, so now I'm short. They were ones I'd just finished, of a relatively popular variety (the mod polkadots) that I'm showcasing in one of my large frames. Now if anyone actually buys any (but they won't),I won't have any to replace the purchased one with in the spot it occupied. So it'll just look crappy.

I have a nice list of real (expensive) shows that I want to apply to next year. I wish it would hurry up and get here. I wanna do fun shows, not this podinky county fair shit.

Oh, and my brother is back home with mom again. (Who here is surprised? Not me. Just disappointed.)


previous next

Leave a note