powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Sept. 26, 2007 - 11:48 a.m.

My brother should be winging his way to the other side of the country for rehab about now. I certainly hope he's successful, but if not, hey, at least he's GONE.

This is where I get to say things that are not very nice. Leave me alone about it.

Made a simple stew last night that turned out delicious. It involved prunes, and was more delicious because of them, counter-intuitive as that claim may be. Am dyeing some paper black and red now.

Went to my reading group this morning, discussed the lexical aspect of 'quit'-- the others think it is still an achievement, but an achievement more like 'die' or 'reach the summit'. And that there may have been two separate quitting events, one culminating in the mental decision and the other one the official notification. Seems plausible.

They seemed a little sad about my decision. I wish people would quit with that. Well, it's always sad when something you thought would work doesn't work. But not as sad as plunging along regardless just because. I'm happy about the whole thing, a bit proud that I had the guts to do it. Some things are like that-- no in between-- either you are ashamed that you don't have the guts or you're proud that you did. No in between with "well, of course, what else was I gonna do?"

Changes should not be so hard. I formally object to the difficulty of making changes.

previous next

Leave a note