powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Jun. 29, 2008 - 7:34 a.m.

I sat out on the deck last night at twilight, watching the bats hunt. I had heard that strange things were afoot in the Indiana bat community, so I was glad to see some out and about.

When I was in Tanzania, one morning I had gotten up early and was coming back to my room from the bathroom. I cut through the little courtyard. Suddenly I was surrounded by silent swooping, many wings flapping. Bats, big bats, tens of bats, circling round and round just over my head, circumnavigating the courtyard over and over. They continued for a minute or two, and then suddenly, they were gone. I have no idea where they went-- they were too fast to track. I got up every other morning jsut as early, hoping to see them again, but I never did.

previous next

Leave a note