powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, May. 04, 2009 - 10:48 a.m.

Yesterday I ordered some sweet pear mint cuttings off of Etsy instead of using the fact that want this mint as an excuse to order from Richters, where they only ship 6 or more plants at a time. It's a small step in the direction of sanity, but an important one. It may not stop me from placing an order to WellSweep Herbs just because I want the orange spice thyme. And lime balm. I think I need them, as I will need something to plant in the new area atop the wall I'm building. Seems like an appropriate motivator.

In other herby news, I discovered that my mother-of-thyme (a creeping thyme I got for groundcover that's been slowly taking over my garden) is indeed edible. I don't know why I thought it wasn't, but yay, it is! Had some on my roasted chicken last night, no complaints. Also, this just in: lemon balm leaves are good in salads. I know, not a huge surprise, I just hadn't tried it before.

I haven't looked at the weather for the weekend again. I said I wouldn't.

I'm getting anxious(er) about the shows. Tomorrow I go to the Perambulating Chelonian-- if she buys too much of any one thing, I'll only have a few days to make to restock in time for the big show. And no time for the first show. Some things I'm set for, others are precariously slim pickins. Just wish I knew what price point was going to sell. Damn my continued lack of reliably accurate prescience.

previous next

Leave a note