powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Monday, Feb. 07, 2011 - 10:46 a.m.

Yesterday day I bought kelp and mung beans. I bought the kelp because the package made it sound approachable and interesting; I bought the mung beans because it seemed to me that I kept coming across recipes that called for them. Today I have no fucking idea whatsoever what to do with either one. Most of the recipes I've dug up call for yellow split mung beans; the ones I got are green and whole. The kelp recipes all call for other ingredients I don't have on hand.

*sigh* Update: I toasted the kelp as advised on the package; it is indeed crunchy. Crunchy, salty, and tasting like the North Atlantic. I gave a little piece to Spigotbottom, who was more amenable to the whole thing than I would have guessed.

previous next

Leave a note