powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Jun. 14, 2012 - 11:05 p.m.

We made it here. No disasters.

Staying at an aunt's beach house tonight.

Was given a wardrobe worth of clothes for the new child. Am surprisingly dismayed at it all. Blue. Brown. Boats. Cars. Dogs. (also was given a basket of clothes for Q; all my powers of studied graciousness were called upon to get through the pile of Disney Princess stuff included).

I like boats. What dismayed me is that Q never got boats. Also, we are cat people. Why are domesticated pets gendered like this for baby clothing?

Also a joke from grandpa about getting him his first lacrosse stick. Already with the sports and crap. Really? Already? This is going to be harder than I thought.

And also because, I'll go ahead and say it, I don't like that kind of boy. I need to be able to imagine myself raising a child I like and relate to as a human, not some dog and mud and sports and car loving boy's boy, which is apparently how we're to paint this infant before he even appears on the scene. So I need to be able to imagine this boy to be a lot like my girl; stubborn, sweet, smart, bookish already, funny. Neither of them so different from the other from the get-go that that they need different color palettes or animals or whatever. On gets flora, the other modes of conveyance.

Stupid-ass shit.

previous next

Leave a note