powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Jan. 12, 2013 - 6:19 a.m.

Today is Q's birthday! #3! We had the party with her grandparents already of course, so we're trying to figure out what else to do today. There's her Gym class. And then a local theater is playing My Neighbor Totoro. We're planning to try to go to that. First movie in a theater! Who knows how long she'll sit through it, and one of us will probably end up walking around in the parking lot with U, but what can you do. Before the Pooh videos thing got going I really wanted the Miyazaki films to be her first...so we're close.

Of course, she has a cold. Probably it is wrong to take her anywhere in this condition, but it's her birthday! We can't just sit at home!

In other news, I've gotten 2 wholesale orders this week and a "hello? Is anyone there?" phone call from the art guild shop. So I'm trying to get it going again. Will also try to make enough to fill the other orders I got before U was born. Have a massive list of things to make-- aiming for n+2 at least. One for each order plus one to send to the art guild and one to have on hand. I would like to find a way to make it work.

A blog post on the project-based homeschooling site helped my resolve. Basically saying yeah, it's hard and slow to do your own work under these conditions, but anything you get done is more than you would have done of you didn't try. So if its important to you to be a maker and doer, then do. Learn to work in suboptimal conditions.

Some of it I absolutely cannot do with them around (the toxic chemicals and powders part), but a lot I probably can if I really try.

previous next

Leave a note