powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Jun. 26, 2013 - 11:25 a.m.

Ugh, so sweaty. The in-laws, previously known for keeping the house frigidly cold all the time, have now swung back the other way and leave the ac off on the main house most of the time. My metabolism has changed, and this is not welcome. But I can't complain or I'll lose my Floridian cred. My "I grew up without air conditioning, and had to sleep with a blanket over my head in August just to keep the mosquitoes off" cred. True story. But this is another time and place, and when you only get to shower every 5 days, you don't want to be sweating during the interim.

It's striking to me just how striking all the green is here. I overheard Q explaining it to U: "those green things are trees, Caillou." (She calls him Caillou sometimes. It's part of an intricate system of multiple identities we have going. I myself am sometimes an ambulance, shrimp boat, Daisy Duck, Elmo, freight train, air controller, Christopher Robin, or a car.)

previous next

Leave a note