powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, May. 21, 2016 - 2:03 p.m.

"We like to eat leftover pizza cold!", she tells me. "It's good that way, straight from the fridge!", as if I am not a 40ish year old woman who has, in fact, previously been a teenager and college student. As if she is the first person to think of eating cold pizza. What am I supposed to say? "Wow, really?"?. "I know, I've been a college student", I say. It is probably the wrong thing.

She didn't want us to invite friends over to swim in pool because that would mean a lot of work and mess for her. J invites them anyway, for a different day. I undertake to make the food. She overrules me on my choice of dessert and while I am nursing the baby, bakes a different cake and cleans the whole kitchen before I get a chance. So much work to have people over when you can't just let someone else take care of it.

Leaving in 3 days. Just in time.

previous next

Leave a note