powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Sept. 22, 2018 - 8:52 a.m.

More drama with my mama last night after what had been a good day. She cut U’s prized rubber band in half for a project they were working on and he went into meltdown. Not just mad, but total meltdown. Then instead of just quietly leaving, she stays to try to lecture him. And me. Finally left by saying, “I don’t want to hear what you have to say.”

Haha, remember back in April when she was so shocked to hear that I feel like she doesn’t care what I have to say?

In general I’m having a lot of dissonance over my own subjective knowledge of how meltdowns feel and what other people expect me to do when U melts down. Yes, there is some control in that I still manage not to hit anyone or damage property, mostly. And he does need to find that degree of control. BUT where/when/how to help him with that is the tricky bit.

It doesn’t help that most of the people I discuss this with don’t really acknowledge that I have the same subjective experience. J does, he’s about it.

previous next

Leave a note