powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Jan. 14, 2021 - 1:04 a.m.

The birthday party went fine. The child has successfully aged.

U and E have colds. Every time someone gets a cold now I WORRY. I do not seem to be coming down with it.

I don’t know what to say about everything else.

I sometimes imagine doing some kind of art tribute to victims of Covid. One of those things that helps people visualize the numbers. Then I realize I couldn’t do it for the country because I can’t possibly make 3000+ anything a day. For the state? Hundreds of things a day. So many.

I don’t really want to do it anyway.

The Fancy Sprinkles we got for the birthday cupcake decorating make me want to make some jewelry with that sort of visual too-muchness. A pile of beads, seed beads of different sizes and bugle beads, dripping from one. A spill of resin covered in beads? Something more deliberate?

Also thinking about those little curvy triangular plastic beads that stack together. I used to play with those a lot as a kid. I don’t know what they’re called. I wonder what the most amazing thing is that one could do with those sorts of little plastic beads. Those, and the faceted round ones, and the kind that has sort of flat spokes and come in giant mixed bags at the neighborhood craft store.

previous next

Leave a note