powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Tuesday, Apr. 26, 2022 - 8:45 p.m.

End of day 4 of Facebook exile. I care less about the things I don’t care about, but more about the people I do. I still don’t know. Happier, like some people claim they are without it? No, I wouldn’t say so. Getting more done? I wouldn’t say that either.

Less time auto-doomscrolling, maybe my mind a little less cluttered. Which has only freed up time to brood/fixate on other things. Don’t know if that’s good or not.

The idea of community being a good thing for everyone that everyone should be part of is still making me angry or resentful.
I’m still avoiding my jewelry.
I’m not fucking with the printmaking this week.
Focused on the pinhole stuff. I hope I get some good images and I can get back into gum bichromate.

Did a transcription the other day where someone was talking about audiences, how audiences can be dangerous because then you perform for them. It’s an opiate, and a limit, he said.
Commercial artists and craftspeople will say, yes, I am making things for people.
But yes, it limits you.
So this is what I’m thinking about instead of Facebook. I don’t think it’s better. I feel more outside. Is that good? Is that an affectation?

previous next

Leave a note