powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Mar. 29, 2023 - 11:23 p.m.

Well, I took more pervert pictures, this time with the new light. Pros: it’s really bright! I could use some of the cameras that I couldn’t last time. Cons: I was a little too optimistic about the exposure times, I cut them short by a little too much and some shots that would have been great were a little too underexposed.

The lighting in general, I really like the look where the subject is well lit and then the rest fades to black, a sort of spotlight/chiaroscuro thing. I don’t know that that’s especially sophisticated lighting from a photography standpoint. Do I want to be sophisticated for its own sake or do I want to have a photo that looks a certain way? The latter, obviously, but I’m aware I don’t know what’s considered “good” lighting or “bad” lighting or why and I worry I’m missing the mark by not even being aware that small changes would make it more of what I want.

Do I want to take anyone’s advice about it? No, obviously not.

But I do have a few good images now, I may try to do some gum bichromate prints.

previous next

Leave a note