powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Apr. 23, 2023 - 9:19 p.m.

There’s some artist studio spaces downtown that are expanding and can take on more artists and they’re only $150 a month.

It seems like a good opportunity, but is it a good opportunity _for me_? Am I just greedy? I already have a studio. I couldn’t do the jewelry there because of the rhythm of my jewelry work and family life. How often would I even be there? But I think maybe I could use that one for a place to photograph people in? And if there’s running water there and all, maybe do some of my printing? I don’t know. I don’t know what the space is like. I’ve messaged to ask.

I don’t know if I’d have time to go there, I have very little time as it is. There would be other people involved and an expectation of participating in community to some degree. Would that be bad, or good?

Am I excited about it because I imagine it will make me feel successful and somehow impart me with goals and purpose and feel like a Real Grownup Artist? That’s almost certainly false. Though maybe it will spur development in some new direction.

Of course, you apply and they decide if they want you, so probably all these questions are moot.

previous next

Leave a note