powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Sept. 01, 2023 - 7:54 a.m.

Yesterday I succumbed to the urge to buy an entire roll of the good transparency film. 17.5” x 65’. I’m pretty excited about the idea of doing larger objects. The folding will be easier with larger pieces and they’ll be more striking as well.

Initial attempts to print in cyan on the transparency and then make a print of that where the image is visible have been suggestive but not perfect. I’ll continue.

I do think cyan folded objects will be even better large. I don’t know how well this film will hold up over time. Probably UV is the main problem, like for all plastics.

I also, as a birthday present, signed up for a 5 week online calligraphy class taught by 5 different people, all of whom are well known calligraphers whose work I’ve been following for years. I’m kind of nervous about it (I will have to actually select texts to use and do things and other people might see them and I’m afraid I suck) but I know I’ll get a lot out of it that applies way beyond calligraphy.

previous next

Leave a note