powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Sept. 10, 2023 - 10:21 a.m.

I ended up telling her $50 for the 8x10. It is an original. It does involve more accumulated skill and problem solving than cyanotypes that are just plunking a negative or some flowers down. Those also are awesome to do, obviously. But these involve extra steps. I just have a hard time with pricing. As does everyone. $50 is not unreasonable.

I did a 16x20 today. Two objects on it. Do they complement each other? I don’t know. Objects in combination is another direction to explore. It turned out very well in any case. Except I should have dried it under pressure sooner than I did. It’s wobbly around the edges.

I do have quite a stack going now of these things. I suppose I’ll scan them. I could add them to my society6 images, in case anyone wants a reproduction or a phone case or a shower curtain. I don’t know. Meh.

I could do a show now and then I guess. There’s a cost to that too of course. Framing. Bags and bins. Sweat. Ugh.

I know I said I wasn’t doing them for commercial purposes, but at some point, you’ve got to be like, ok. I’m turning large sheets of flat paper into many small stacks of wobbly paper with shades of blue arranged on them. What do I do with them now that I have a lot of them? Exchange them for electronic green paper so I can exchange that for more big flat white paper.

previous next

Leave a note