powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

2001-06-11 - 9:58 p.m.

I ate eggplant for dinner. Eggplant and what? Nothing. Just oven roasted eggplant, plain. I think there's something seriously wrong with me.

Must weigh in with my McVeigh opinion/observations. I'm officially undecided on the death penalty. There are good arguments for and against. I have nothing against revenge, if you want to call it that, when it is administered fairly and with forewarning. My objection is that apparently it is not administered fairly.

It's a good situation, in my opinion. Attempts to demonize him must fail, because he wasn't as straightforwardly hatable as many death row inmates. He wasn't stupid. He wasn't undignified. He wasn't nasty and rude. He was, apparently, rather well read. Someone you could have a good conversation with. But here's the deal: he knew exactly what the consequences of his actions would be before he did what he did. He did it anyway. Collateral damage, then. Have it his way.

An intelligent man who made a well informed choice. No one deserved the death penalty more than he, and no one can simplify the moral consequences for everyone by painting him a saint or a demon.

The poem he passed out illustrates that he chose his path. The end.

previous next

Leave a note