powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Saturday, Apr. 29, 2006 - 7:50 a.m.

The last day of classes involved only minor screw-ups (up-screwings?) just before handing out evaluation forms. I now understand why teachers arrange in advance for who should take their evals back to the office-- in my first class my only volunteer was a student who is failing rather spectacularly. I don't think she is aware of HOW spectacularly, and so the forms did make it back, but it did give me pause. Next time, I hand-pick my courier.

If there is a next time, anyway. Still no letter.

Other than that, what? Was obliged to attend the department awards ceremony. Managed to slip out after a half hour, went to the park to read. It was a perfect April day. Green, freshly-mown grass, blue sky, warm, breezy, bright. I got a sunburn.

Today, it will be chilly and rainy. And J took the car to Chicago, so no farmer's market for me.

previous next

Leave a note