powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Thursday, Sept. 14, 2006 - 9:46 a.m.

Class today not so bad. Had to turn down several offers to hand in late homework, but my policy is fully installed now in all of its inflexible glory. They took the "no"s with resigned grace.

Exciting news on the jewelry front: peddled my wares yesterday at the jewelry store in Nashville that I had been referred to-- she bought $175 worth. Yay! It's not a real artsy-looking place, so I'm not sure if the right people will be able to find it very easily, but I'm still excited to see how it goes. Pretty much everyone who has seen my work seems to like it, so maybe the artsiness of the locale isn't crucial. Wide appeal, and all that. She bought my autumnal pieces, they're going in the window. Hope they're actually lightfast. *crosses fingers*

I would like to do a study of how successful artists respond to compliments of their work. I never know what to say, especially with serial compliments. It's a simple matter of pragmatics, surely I can learn the basics if I tried. "Thank you" is good once, but with the same interlocutor in the same conversation, it can only go so far. Yeah, that would be a really useful study. And fun.

previous next

Leave a note