powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Sunday, Apr. 15, 2007 - 8:00 a.m.

I'm not gonna do it, of course. I have other things to occupy my time. I do think it's a good idea, though. I'd read it if someone else did it.

On a certain social website popular amongst the college crowd these days, there is a group called 'bling' followed by the name of our profession (which blends into it very nicely), whose group home page features a picture of a certain phonetics professor wearing a sombrero, some sort of cape, and flashing gang symbols. I love to just go and look at it.

Today I intend to:
1) make 10 things before breakfast
2) work on my paper-- I promised my friend 3 pages by Thursday, this is my new motivational tactic
3) go to Lowe's and buy hardware for my craft booth before I miss the second deadline.

Last night at like 10:15 pm someone came up onto the deck and knocked on the glass door. Our house faces two streets-- the front is on a cul-de-sac, and the back with garage is on the other street that runs behind, so sometimes people think it's the front and come there to approach the house rather than go to the actual front. It freaked me out. And whoever it was didn't shut the gate behind them. WTF.
I don't like it when people come to my house and I'm not expecting it. Especially late at night and they're clearly strangers.

previous next

Leave a note