powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Oct. 10, 2007 - 7:14 a.m.

It got chilly last night and it seems that it will stick. Fall, for real this time. I still haven't mowed the grass for the last time this year.

I'm supposed to be reading my article for this morning's reading group now. I'm always behind; I feel bad. In it, this one famous linguist writes: "The translational equivalents of all Warlpiri conative verbs mentioned by [blah blah blah], of all Tongan middle verbs listed by [blah blah] take partitive objects in Finnish."

Dude, are you KIDDING? Dude. Seriously.

I was directed recently to this volume on linguistic evidence; it mainly revolved around the UG issue. Someone needs to talk seriously about 'evidence' like this stuff above. I'm not buying it, but clearly there are some who do. Why? (Hint: they aren't field linguists)

My new camera is wonderful. I'm just starting to figure out how to make it go, but I've already had some success. Such detail!

previous next

Leave a note