powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Oct. 12, 2007 - 2:28 p.m.

The city gave us a warning! For not mowing the lawn! Ridiculous. J doesn't think it's ridiculous, but then, he's a liberal. This is the sort of thing that makes my libertarian blood boil.

So I've started mowing it, but it doesn't look good. It's patchy and ugly, and I'm doing my best to make sure that it will actually look worse mowed than unmowed, while technically submitting to the dictates of the fascist ordinance.

At the same time as I am having this tongue-only-partially-in-cheek reaction, I noticed that our neighbors mowed our driveway for us (yes, it's paved, but we have some dirt accumulation issues). That was nice of them; I'll have to make them a pumpkin bread.

I am truly a woman with some inner conflict.

previous next

Leave a note