powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Wednesday, Feb. 27, 2008 - 12:14 p.m.

Finally some action, thank goodness. Two new consignment accounts! And one of them even wants to carry my bowls and ACEOs.

The one gallery manager noted that even glass artists have trouble with people worrying about durability. It's glass, so it'll break, obviously. Glass affords breaking; paper affords tearing. So apparently this battle is bigger than I thought it was: it's me vs. the human mind itself.

She said it seemed like her customers wanted to be able to take off the whatever and toss it into the bottom of their purse and have it come out of it unaffected. She was as puzzled by this attitude as I, but there it is.

Philistines.

Oh, and also they want small things. My 1" pendant, she warned me, might be too big for her customers.

No, she was very up-front and matter-of-fact about it, and it's good information. Just, people. What's wrong with them?

So, we'll see how it goes. But hey! 2 new consignment accounts!

previous next

Leave a note