powered by SignMyGuestbook.com



Language Log

Friday, Oct. 17, 2008 - 7:39 a.m.

Contrast classes are a bitch.

Brought some things up to the art center, where the manager has been very helpful but also concerned about getting my stuff to sell better. On one hand, she's trying to figure out how we can present my work to get best results; on theother hand, the implication is clear: she doesn't have much room, and can't afford to give good prime space to things that aren't moving. Now, the biggest checks I'd gotten from there have been bigger than the biggest checks from anywhere else, so while I heard her, I wasn't sure what I should be hoping for, exactly. So I asked. Turns out her best seller makes on average 10 times what I do, during a slow month. During a good month during the holidays, it's more like 20-25 times.

Ouch. I've been struggling to make during an entire month in all my venues what she makes from the one shop.

That's her best seller; presumably she doesn't expect me to match it, but a little more would be a good thing.

Those best sellers are little teensy tiny stamped silver things with boring words on them. Boring! What's wrong with people? Clearly there is something wrong with people. How can they not recognize my brilliance? (don't worry; tongue is placed firmly in cheek as I say this).

Anyway, once again I left way too much stuff there and am now short. Motivation!

previous next

Leave a note